Welcome to FlagFocus.com


Formation Date:1962
Land area:2381741.00
Government Form:Republic
Head of State:Abdelaziz Bouteflika

Adopted on July 3, 1962, the colors of the flag symbolize Islam (green), purity (white), and liberty (red). The crescent and star is a symbol of Islam, with the crescent being more closed than in other Muslim countries because the Algerians believe that the long horns of the crescent bring happiness or represent an increase or good fortune, while the whole emblem recalls the period of Ottoman rule during the 16th century; its color, red, is symbolic of liberty.

The flag of Algeria was adopted by the National Liberation Front (Front de Liberation National) in 1954, on the basis of an older design, created in 1928, by the nationalist leader Messali Hadj. From 1958-62, it was the flag of the Provisional Government in exile; but when independence was achieved in 1962, the new government kept the same flag and it has remained unchanged ever since.

Algeria has 48 provinces (wilayas):

Adrar, Ain Defla, Ain Temouchent, Alger, Annaba, Batna, Bechar, Bejaia, Biskra, Blida, Bordj Bou Arreridj, Bouira, Boumerdes, Chlef, Constantine, Djelfa, El Bayadh, El Oued, El Tarf, Ghardaia, Guelma, Illizi, Jijel, Khenchela, Laghouat, Mascara, Medea, Mila, Mostaganem, M'Sila, Naama, Oran, Ouargla, Oum el Bouaghi, Relizane, Saida, Setif, Sidi Bel Abbes, Skikda, Souk Ahras, Tamanghasset, Tebessa, Tiaret, Tindouf, Tipaza, Tissemsilt, Tizi Ouzou, Tlemcen