Welcome to FlagFocus.com


Formation Date:1968
Land area:2040.00
Government Form:Republic
Head of State:Cassam Uteem

Nepal is the only country in the world to have a flag that is not rectangular or square. The two triangles symbolize the Himalaya Mountains and they also stand for two religions: Hinduism and Buddhism.

From 1960, Nepal was ruled by an absolute monarchy. The regime ended in 1991 when the first multiparty elections were held. Originally, two separate triangular pennants were flown one above the other; these were then joined to form a single flag.

Crimson is the national color of Nepal which is the color of the rhododendron; the country’s national flower. Red is also considered the sign of victory in war; while the blue border is said to represent peace.

Until 1962, the flag’s emblems, the sun and the crescent moon, had human faces. They were removed to modernize the flag. The moon in the upper part represents the royal house. The sun in the lower part symbolizes a branch of the Rana family, members of which acted as prime ministers until 1961; and they also represent the wish that the nation might live as long as these celestial bodies exist.